My Favourite Home Made Body Products

Standard

People who have been following this blog for a while will know that I have been making a lot of products at home instead of buying them in order to try and save money. I thought that today I would do an update on how these products have been going.
Two products that I really love and have made a couple of times now, are home made deodorant and home made hair gel/ curl definer.

Here is the recipe I have been using for home made deodorant. It is so simple and takes only a couple of minutes to make.

Home Made Deodorant

1/2 cup bicarb soda
1/2 cup cornflour
coconut oil
a few drops tea tree oil

Mix together carb soda and cornflour, then gradually mix in enough coconut oil to form a paste (about the consistency of thick cream). Stir in tea tree oil and scrape into a wide mouth container.
To use, scoop a little bit on to fingers and rub under arms – you don’t need very much.

20120404-212942.jpg

20120404-214009.jpg

If you have ever worried about the health effects of deodorants, or just want to save a little bit of money – try it, try it, try it! Honestly, this works really, really well. I have used it while exercising on a hot Queensland day with no problems – amazing!

This recipe came from
homestead Revival Blog

My next favourite recipe was originally called home made hair gel, but I prefer to call it home made curl definer.
This is the product I was using, it is quite an expensive product.

20120405-055118.jpg

This is a big statement, but I think the home made gel is much better (at least it is on my hair).

Hair Gel Recipe

2 tablespoons linseed
1 cup water

Put linseeds and water in a saucepan. Bring to the boil then simmer gently for 10 minutes (no longer).
Pour mixture through a fine sieve to remove linseeds and discard these.
When mixture has cooled beat it with a whisk or beaters for a minute to break up the gel. Store in the fridge and discard if it starts to smell bad.
Use the same way that you would use a purchased product.

I have adapted this recipe from one I found at The Hairpin

20120405-060258.jpg

It is a little gross and slimy, but it works great and is so cheap, so try to get past that.

20120405-060454.jpg

20120405-061532.jpg

I am also loving the home made soap that we made. You have to leave soap for about a month before you can use it, so it’s very exciting to be able to finally try it out. It is beautiful and soft and silky to use and I can use it on my face with no problems. It is still a bit soft so a block doesn’t last all that long, but I think it will get harder if we wait longer.

IMG_0250

I have a book of gorgeous soap recipes so I am looking forward to trying a few of those now. It is really very easy and you can buy everything you need from the supermarket, so why not give it a go.
I used Rhonda’s recipe from the Down to Earth Blog

My purchased face moisturiser has almost run out, so I think my next experiment will be making moisturiser. I’m slightly nervous about this as my face is fairly sensitive, but we’ll see how we go. I know that it is certainly worth a try though because the savings can be huge, and it is a lot of fun.
Give it a try, I’m sure you will be amazed too.

All the best,
Sharee

Leave a comment