Best Ice Cream Recipe Ever

Standard

I made this ice cream recipe the other day, and it was soooo delicious I thought I would share it with you. Before you make it though, I warn you, I am a cardamom addict – I absolutely love cardamom in anything, sometime I even crave it lol. So, if you’re a cardamom fan like me, give this one a try. You wont be sorry.
I found this recipe on the back of a packet of Herbies Spices cardamom seed – thanks, Herbie!

IMG_9460

Cardamom Ice Cream

1 tsp cardamom seeds crushed (the little brown ones, not the green pods)
3/4 cup caster sugar
3 cups light cream (I used 1 cup cream, 1 tin of evaporated milk, and a little bit of milk to make three cups because)
4 eggs separated
1 tsp vanilla essence

Combine cardamom, cream, and sugar in a saucepan and bring to the boil, stirring often.
Remove from heat, allow to cool slightly.
Lightly beat egg yolks and gradually whisk in 1 cup of the hot cream.
Stir this into remaining cream and return to heat, stirring constantly, until custard thickens enough to coat the back of a spoon.
Beat egg whites until soft peaks form, then beat in the hot custard until well blended.
Add vanilla and cool completely.
Freeze until icicles begin to form, then beat again and refreeze, or churn in an ice cream machine.

Yum! Try not to eat it all before it freezes lol – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

